Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Apply for NAQC Membership
Site Search
Sign up for NAQC membership today!

Receive a monthly issue of Connections!
NAQC Newsroom: NAQC News

Announcing NAQC’s Board Election Results 2017

Monday, June 26, 2017  
Posted by: Natalia Gromov

NAQC Welcomes New Directors to the Board!

Dear Colleagues,

Please join me in welcoming NAQC’s newly elected directors, Delmonte Jefferson (Executive Director at NAATPN, Inc.),  Barbara Schillo (Vice President at ClearWay MinnesotaSM, re-elected for a second term), and  Miranda Spitznagle (Director of the Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission at Indiana State Department of Health).
I am delighted to have these exceptional professionals join the Board, and have every confidence that they will make important contributions to the strategic direction of NAQC and its future success. As described below, each new director brings a special expertise to the Board.

Delmonte Jefferson, BS
Mr. Jefferson is the Executive Director of NAATPN, Inc., a national organization that facilitates public health programs to benefit people of African descent. He has an 18-year background in public health program administration. His highly diversified career portfolio includes managing and directing public health programs in North Carolina, Louisiana, and Georgia. He has worked with national, state, and local legislators to help shape policies in support of smoke-free establishments and restrictions on the sale of menthol and other flavored tobacco products. Mr. Jefferson is co-chair of the Tobacco Disparities Working Group, a member of the Southeast Health Equity Council, a member of the Phoenix Equity Group and a member of CDC/OSH’s Disparities Equity Collaborative. He has worked with a cross section of public and private sector entities to create programs and services that promote a culture of health equity for youth and disenfranchised populations.
Barbara Schillo, PhD
Dr. Barbara Schillo has over 20 years of experience in conducting applied research, managing research and public health programs, and organizational management and leadership. Dr. Schillo is currently a member of the four-person executive team that directs the operations of ClearWay Minnesota. As Vice President, she leads research and cessation programs, coordinates efforts to translate knowledge into initiatives that reduce tobacco use, and provides the organization strategic and administrative leadership. Prior to becoming a Vice President, Dr. Schillo served as the organization’s Director of Research Programs from 2001 to 2008. She currently serves on the Board of Directors for the North American Quitline Consortium and is a past Advisory Council Member. During Dr. Schillo’s time at ClearWay Minnesota, she has worked to develop innovative tobacco cessation programs and has developed a nationally recognized research program that has advanced tobacco control science. She has a passion for engaging in research that advances policy, having been actively involved in helping to pass Minnesota’s comprehensive smoking ban, a recent statewide tobacco tax increase, and other public policies. Dr. Schillo is active in sharing research findings with others and has published on the topics of tobacco control including quitlines, tobacco control mass media campaigns, tobacco-related disparities in priority populations, and tobacco policy.

Miranda Spitznagle, MPH
Miranda Spitznagle is the Director for the Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission at the Indiana State Department of Health.  She previously served as the Director of Program Evaluation for the Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission, formerly the Indiana Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Agency, and has over 15 years of experience in tobacco control program evaluation, public health policy, strategic planning, grant writing and program monitoring and evaluation. Miranda also has worked as a policy analyst for Indiana’s Office of Medicaid Policy and Planning. Miranda serves on NAQC’s Advisory Council and was a member of the Nomination Committee in 2016. Miranda has demonstrated leadership in a number of ways. She has served on the Tobacco Control Network executive committee from 2011-2016, first as Regional Representative, then Secretary, Chair-elect, Chair, then past Chair. She also was been a member of the CDC Leadership and Sustainability School in 2015. Miranda has volunteered on a number of associations, boards and commissions, including the Indiana Public Health Association, Families with Children From China-Indiana (including as President) and St. Monica School Commission (2014-2017).

Thanks to Our Outgoing Director and Others!

I would like to give a special thanks to outgoing director, Wayne Tormala (Bureau Chief at Arizona Department of Health Services), for his excellent service to NAQC. Wayne was elected to the NAQC Board for two terms and during his tenure he has served as Board Chair and Treasurer. His expertise, commitment, and support have contributed to NAQC’s progress over the past six years.

I also would like to thank the candidates who were willing to have their names put forward for the election, NAQC members who nominated potential candidates and those who voted in the Board election. Your participation helps maintain NAQC as a strong and member-driven organization. Thanks also to the members of the Nomination Committee for their work in vetting and selecting nominees. This year’s Committee includes  Barbara Schillo (committee chair), Rob Adsit, Linda Bailey, Freeha Bhatti, Paula Celestino and Barry Sharp.
If you have questions about the responsibilities of the Board or suggested nominees for next year’s election, please contact NAQC President and CEO, Linda Bailey at

Submitted on behalf of the Board,

Chad Morris
Board Chair

Membership 11 years!.

    3219 E. Camelback Road, #416, Phoenix, AZ 85018 | Ph: 800.398.5489 | Fax: 800.398.5489 |