Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Apply for NAQC Membership
Site Search
Sign up for NAQC membership today!

Receive a monthly issue of Connections!
NAQC Newsroom: Announcements

Call for Nominations 2010: NAATPN National Awards

Friday, March 12, 2010  
In recognition of its 10th anniversary and for only the second time in its history, the National African American Tobacco Prevention Network (NAATPN) is calling for nominations for its two national awards in tobacco research and community advocacy. The awards were created to recognize longtime stellar work in moving tobacco prevention and control forward for Black people and in communities of African descent.

The Robert G. Robinson Nguzo Saba Award recognizes a research scholar from an institution or agency that has provided unique insight in tobacco research. The nominee must have facilitated cutting edge research, exhibited outstanding leadership and/or impacted national policy with a proven record of addressing health disparities related to tobacco use in Black communities. The award will be presented to an individual who has been fully engaged in targeted initiatives in the areas of cessation, media relations & communication, advocacy, prevention, and/or second-hand smoke exposure research. Length of service in tobacco use prevention will be a critical factor under consideration. His or her work should reflect and exemplify the Principles of Nguzo Saba - Umoja (Unity), Kujichagulia (Self Determination), Ujima (Collective Work and Responsibility), Ujamaa (Cooperative Economics), Nia (Purpose), Kuumba (Creativity) and Imani (Faith) at the institutional and community levels.

The Charyn D. Sutton Community Advocate Award â€" recognizes a community and/or faith-based advocate that has engaged in grassroots-level activities. The nominee must have a proven track record of impacting tobacco use in Black communities in the areas of cessation, media & communication, advocacy, prevention, industry surveillance, education, and/or second-hand smoke exposure. Length of service in tobacco use prevention will be a critical factor under consideration. The award will be presented to an individual that has exhibited tireless work with limited resources, is recognized as a change agent, and has influenced local, state or national policy and/or research through his/her work.

Upon completion of a form, nominations will be accepted from individuals, organizations, agencies, and businesses that are familiar with the work of the nominee. An individual can nominate him/herself for consideration.

All nominations should include:
  • Name of Nominee
  • Contact Information of Nominee (address, phone number, e-mail, organizational affiliation, if applicable)
  • Category of Nomination (Nguzo Saba or Community Advocate)
  • Statement of Accomplishments (not to exceed 500 words) of the nominee with regard to the specific award category
  • Statement of Support (not to exceed 300 words) why you think this nominee should be selected for the award
  • Contact Information of Nominator (same as above)
Submit To
Completed nominations should be forwarded to: Latia White-Boney via mail at NAATPN, c/o National Award Nominee, 400 W. Main Street, Suite 415, Durham, NC 27701, via e-mail at ( or fax (919-680-4004) by 5:00pm EST on April 15, 2010. Feel free to contact the NAATPN office (919-680-4000) with any questions you may have about the process.

Selection Process
NAATPN staff will collect all nominations received by the stated deadline and check for compliance. All nominations must be in hand by the deadline and postdated nominations will not be reviewed. Once compliance is determined, all nominees will be sent to the Chair of the Nomination Committee of the Executive Council, where a selection panel made up of Executive Council members and staff will review, rank, and make a final recommendation of nominees to the Executive Director and full Executive Council. A final decision will be made by April 30th, and the successful recipients will be notified by May 1, 2010.

The awards will be presented to the successful nominees, in-person, at the 10th Anniversary Awards Banquet following the golf tournament on the evening of June 4, 2010 in Durham, North Carolina.

Sign In

Latest News

Membership 11 years!.

    3219 E. Camelback Road, #416, Phoenix, AZ 85018 | Ph: 800.398.5489 | Fax: 800.398.5489 |