Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Apply for NAQC Membership
Site Search
Sign up for NAQC membership today!

Receive a monthly issue of Connections!
NAQC Newsroom: NAQC News

Results of NAQC Board of Directors Elections

Wednesday, August 10, 2011  
Posted by: Natalia Gromov
Thank you to all NAQC members who participated in this year's election by putting forward names of stellar candidates and by casting your votes. Your participation in this important process, allows NAQC members to select candidates best suited for setting NAQC's strategic direction, connecting with the membership and ensuring NAQC's advancement and sustainability.We encourage you to submit names of potential candidates to the NAQC board throughout the year to

We welcome our newly elected Board members, Chad Morris, PhD, Wayne Tormala, and Paul Lapierre (reelected) along with Lawrence Green, DrPH, ScD(Hon), who was appointed by the Board to complete the term of Matt Madonna (2010 – 2013).

Board Members for 2011- 2014

Chad Morris is an Associate Professor at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry where I direct the Behavioral Health & Wellness Program (BHWP) and Postdoctoral Fellowship in Administration and Evaluation. In 2006 Chad created BHWP which is a multidisciplinary center of excellence for research, training, public policy, and clinical care. The center has now provided consultation to over 25 states, preparing providers and systems to deliver tobacco cessation services. Chad is a past president of the Colorado Psychological Association and current Council of Representatives member for the American Psychological Association. He recently finished his term on the Colorado Governor's Interagency Council on Homelessness.

Dedicating his entire career to human service, Wayne Tormala has provided leadership at the local, national and global levels in programs addressing issues of public health, mental illness, the environment, world hunger, poverty, and economic justice. He has served in many executive positions, including: executive director of community-based agencies; vice president of a global world hunger organization; deputy director of a public policy institute in Washington, D.C.; observer and consultant to recovery efforts in post-war Uganda and post-genocide Rwanda; coordinator of community-based initiatives for the City of Phoenix; and chief of the Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Tobacco & Chronic Disease. Currently, Wayne oversees all aspects of tobacco prevention/cessation and the prevention/management of chronic diseases, including heart disease, cancer, lung disease, stroke, asthma and diabetes.

Paul Lapierre joined the Canadian Cancer Society as Group Director of Public Affairs and Cancer Control (PACC) in 2006, became Vice-President of PACC in 2008 and took up a lead role in the Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control overseeing public issues, cancer control policy and information, communications and international affairs portfolios.Since 2009, Paul has led Society's Mission Council work focusing on nation-wide priorities with 5 strategic areas in Tobacco Control, Screening, Occupational & Environmental, Information & Peer Support and Access to Quality Care.

LawrenceW. Green, is a Professor in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, University of California at San Francisco. From 1999-2004, he was Distinguished Fellow-Visiting Scientist at CDC and served as Director of CDC's World Health Organization Collaborating Center on Global Tobacco Control, Acting Director of the Office on Smoking and Health, Director of CDC's Office of Science and Extramural Research and Associate Director for Prevention Research and Academic Partnerships in the Public Health Practice Program Office. He served as Health and Society Visiting Professor at the University of Maryland and Visiting Professor at UC Berkeley's School of Public Health. Larry lived in Canada during the 1990's where he directed the Institute of Health Promotion Research at the University of British Columbia. He is well known for his widely used textbooks and for his social-environmental Precede-Proceed model with more than 1000 published applications of it in case studies, research, evaluations, and in other textbooks.

For a complete list of all NAQC Board members and to learn more about the election process, please visit the Board of Directors page on the NAQC Web site.


Board Members Leaving the NAQC Board
NAQC would like to express heartfelt appreciation to outgoing Board members, Becky Roberson, CPA, Terry Music, and Kenneth Lewis, Jr., MDiv for their outstanding service and commitment to NAQC and the quitline community. We wish our outgoing Board members all the best in their continued efforts to help reduce tobacco's burden on society!

Officer Election
On August 2nd, 2011, the NAQC board of directors convened a special meeting to elect officers for FY 2012. We congratulate our newly appointed officers and look forward to working with them in the coming year.

Penny Thomsen, Chair
Health Charity CEO (retired)
North Saanich, BC, Canada

Karla Sneegas, MPH, Chair-Elect
Assistant Commissioner
Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission at ISDH
Indianapolis, IN, USA

Paul Lapierre, Secretary
Vice President Public Affairs and Cancer Control
Canadian Cancer Society
Toronto, ON, Canada

Tracey Strader, MSW, Treasurer
Executive Director
Oklahoma Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust
Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Wayne Tormala, Executive Committee Member-at-Large
Bureau Chief, Arizona Department of Health Services
Bureau of Tobacco & Chronic Disease
Phoenix, AZ, USA

Election Process
We would like to thank the members of the Nominating Committee (committee chair and board memberSharon Campbell; board membersTracey StraderandJeannette Noltenius; NAQC membersChristopher Anderson, University of California, San Diego and Amber Bullock, Legacy; and NAQC President and CEO Linda Bailey) for their work.

If you have questions about the responsibilities of the Board, please contact Board Chair, Penny Thomsen at Board@naquitline.orgor NAQC President and CEO, Linda Bailey at

Sign In

Latest News

Membership 11 years!.

    3219 E. Camelback Road, #416, Phoenix, AZ 85018 | Ph: 800.398.5489 | Fax: 800.398.5489 |