Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Apply for NAQC Membership
Site Search

Sign up for NAQC membership today!

Receive a monthly issue of Connections!
NAQC Newsroom: NAQC News

Board Communique – Election Results 2015

Monday, August 10, 2015  
Posted by: Natalia Gromov
Dear Colleagues,

Please join me in welcoming NAQC’s newly elected directors, Rob Adsit (elected to first term), Diane Canova (reelected to second term), Kim Holland (appointed by the Board to first term) and Amy Lukowski (reelected to second term). As described below, each new director brings a special expertise to the Board.

Rob Adsit, MEd, serves as Director of Education and Outreach at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, Center for Tobacco Research and Intervention (UW-CTRI). Rob has 11 years’ experience in tobacco cessation, including management of a state quitline, and extensive work with healthcare providers and systems.  His work at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health focuses on clinician education, healthcare systems change, and integrating evidence-based tobacco cessation and referral to the Wisconsin Tobacco Quit Line into the electronic health record (EHR). He is responsible for outreach staff, tobacco cessation policy work, and program and staff sustainability/funding. Rob’s portfolio includes local, state (Medicaid, healthcare professional organizations), and national (Joint Commission, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention-CDC, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services-CMS) policy work, which has greatly informed his perspective and experience.
Diane Canova, JD, is a long time tobacco prevention, control and cessation advocate who most recently served as senior vice president for government affairs at the American Legacy Foundation in Washington, DC. Diane’s work at Legacy focused on efforts to influence federal tobacco policy and regulatory decision-making to ensure that the FDA Center for Tobacco Products exercise its authority in a proactive, comprehensive manner. Diane previously served as vice president of policy and programs for Partnership for Prevention where she led efforts to include preventive services in the Affordable Care Act, expansion of Medicare and Medicaid tobacco cessation coverage and development of “Action to Quit” online tobacco cessation resources. Diane’s leadership in the public health sector also included serving as vice president of public policy for the American Heart Association and director of government relations for the American Red Cross.

Kim Holland is vice president, state affairs, for the BlueCross BlueShield Association (BCBSA), a national federation of 36 independent, community-based and locally operated Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies. The Blue System is the nation's largest health insurer of more than 106 million – one-in-three of all Americans. It is the largest single processor of Medicare claims in the nation, and holds the world's largest privately underwritten health insurance contract – the nearly 5.3 million-member Federal Employee Program® (FEP). Prior to joining BCBSA, Kim, a former career insurance producer and independent agency executive, was the first woman elected insurance commissioner in Oklahoma, an office she held for six years. In that role Kim chaired a committee to design a core benefit plan for the state, and was instrumental in including evidence-based treatment, including Quitline services. Holland has served on numerous healthcare-related boards and commissions, including the state’s employees’ benefits board and Medicaid authority. Kim’s leadership and expertise in health insurance will be an invaluable asset to the NAQC board and membership as we face the future of Quitlines in the context of health reform.
Amy Lukowski
Psy.D, serves as Clinical Director for Health Initiatives at National Jewish Health.  She is a licensed psychologist, Tobacco Treatment Specialist (TTS) and a MINT (Motivational Interviewing Network of Trainers) trainer.  She has expertise in working clinically with both individual patients and populations in overcoming dependence and creating health behavior change in the areas of tobacco cessation and weight management.  Early in her career, the focus of her research and clinical work was with addictive behaviors. Currently, she is responsible for the clinical leadership, staff training, aiding and monitoring the development and assessment of the program’s clinical quality assurance and quality improvement programs.  She also serves as a key member of senior management team and is involved with all aspects of the planning, budgeting processes, operational oversight and client relations.  These activities bring her into direct contact with the critical issues related to sustainability of quitlines across the country.  She is an active member of the Colorado Psychological Association and American Psychological Association.

For a complete list of all NAQC directors and to learn more about the election process, please visit the Board of Directors page on the NAQC Web site.
New Board Officers!
On August 3, 2015, the NAQC Board of Directors convened a special meeting to elect officers for FY2016. We congratulate our newly appointed Officers and look forward to working with them in the coming year.
Chair-Elect:            Chad Morris
Secretary:              Barbara Schillo
Treasurer:              Amy Lukowski
ECML:                      Diane Canova

[ECML is executive committee member-at-large]
Directors Leaving the NAQC Board!
NAQC would like to express great appreciation to outgoing Board member Sharon Campbell, PhD, MN, BN for her outstanding six-years of service and commitment to NAQC and the quitline community. Sharon began her Board service in 2009. She chaired the Nominations Committee in 2010. Sharon is also a founding member of NAQC, former co-chair of the Minimal Data Set workgroup, and former NAQC advisory council member. Sharon Campbell has over 25 years of experience in cancer research and evaluation, with a special interest in community-based cancer prevention interventions, tobacco control programs and policies and the effectiveness of health professionals as tobacco cessation referral agents. Sharon works closely with key policy and program decision-makers and is especially interested in the development of relevant, useful and standardized measures to help organizations understand the reach and impact of their programs, undertake comparative studies and learn from natural experiments.

I would like to thank the members of the Nominating committee (committee chair, Chris Anderson; directors Diane Canova and Wayne Tormala; NAQC members Bobbye Grey (Kentucky's Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Program) and Suzanne Gaby (QuitNow Services in BC), and NAQC President and CEO Linda Bailey) for their work.
I would also like to thank all those who nominated potential candidates, and each of the nominees who were willing to serve if selected for the slate or elected by the members.

If you have questions about the responsibilities of the Board or suggested nominees for next year’s election, please contact me at or NAQC President and CEO, Linda Bailey at

Submitted on behalf of the Board,

Tracey Strader
Board Chair

Sign In

Latest News


       Membership 16 years!.

    3219 E. Camelback Road, #416, Phoenix, AZ 85018 | Ph: 800.398.5489 | Fax: 800.398.5489 |